"In Knowledge there is Opportunity"

Ph: (03) 5329 3293

F1 in Schools Success

Ten students from Phoenix P-12 Community College competed in two teams at the ‘F1 in Schools’ State Final. It was held at Quantum Victoria in Melbourne on the 8th and 9th of November 2012. Both teams won the State Championship in the development class (juniors) and the professional class (seniors).

This is the first time in Victoria that both State Champions come from the same school. Students have been judged on their verbal presentation, portfolio, engineering, pit display, marketing, innovation and car races.

Both teams will be representing the school and the State Victoria at the National Final in Geelong in 2013.

Below are the students’ names and their awards:

Cyclone Racing: Thomas Bassett, Nathan Mathews, Braydie Chalmers, Joel Bice, Jai Dawkins

  • State Champions in the Development Class (juniors)
  • Fastest Car award
  • Grand Prix Champions (reaction time) 

Lightspeed: Dylan Sexton, Casey Shevlin, Ben Marshall, Sam Young, Michelle Clarke

  • State Champions in the Professional Class (seniors)
  • Fastest car award
  • Best Portfolio award
  • Best Engineering award
  • Best Innovation award
  • Grand Prix Champions (reaction time)